What is a deacon?

The word 'deacon' comes from the ancient Greek word for servant. They are the volunteer leaders within the church, who the church membership has voted for. Deacons help with the running of the Sunday services through prayer, stewarding, and waiting on the congregation in communion and with the offering. They, alongside the Ministry Team and Officers, set vision and agendas for the church body as a whole, and act as managing trustees. They are an integral part of the spiritual leadership of the church.

Who are the deacons?

The elected officers of church are:

Jackie Somerville (secretary),

Philip Cotterell (treasurer).

The elected deacons are:

Duncan Bartlett,

Howard Brown

Luke Dowding,

Nigel Redford,

Andreea Gherman,

Jean Harrison,

Fifi Oliver Evelyn

Nyaueth Riam,

Matthew Streeter

Helen Swinyard.

In addition, we also have three life deacons, who although not acting as managing trustees are nonetheless well respected members of the community:

Brian Bowers,

Maurice Johns,

Fred Mardell


© Bloomsbury Central Baptist Church

235 Shaftesbury Avenue, WC2H 8EP

020 7240 0544

A registered Charitable Incorporated Organisation, no. 1174891

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White SoundCloud Icon